I’ve had a PhD for a week now. I don’t even know how I feel about it. I don’t even know what I’m supposed to feel about it. Am I even supposed to feel different from how I felt before?

I suppose, having worked my arse off for so long for this, I was half expecting this would be some kind of epiphany. It doesn’t feel like that at all. If anything, I feel much the same as I ever did. Coming home in the evening after my viva last week, I just slumped into a chair and stared into space for about 5 hours. My mind was completely blank. I couldn’t make up my mind whether I should get changed out of my suit, or cook, or take a shower, or eat or sleep. After a while, I started replaying everything that had happened that day. Suddenly my mind was buzzing. I couldn’t make it stop.

Yes, I’ve had my PhD for a week now. I don’t even know what that means.

I don’t even know what that means.

