Sunflower girl, I’m not going to tell you about this post, but I hope you stumble upon it all the same.

The sentiments I hold resemble yours uncannily. In my own way, I’ve been waiting 6 years to be free. Now that time seems so close, and I’m desperate not to let the chance slip out of my hands.

Graduating from primary school, when I had to write what I’d be doing in 10 years’ time for our class of ’01 yearbook, I wrote “Travelling around the world.” It’s going on 12 years since that time and I haven’t travelled nearly as much as I would have liked to. I still feel held back. For 6 years now there’s been the constant pressure of university. First essays, reports, and exams. Then thesis, thesis, thesis. These years have been a blur and sometimes I can hardly distinguish one year from another. And all along there has been the constant feeling that I was still a little girl, still not ready to go out into the world and grow up.

Now, I feel the time to grow up has drawn closer than ever. To grow up and be free.

You’re still in my thoughts and prayers, and I want you to know I have faith in you as a valid human being.

Soon, you, too, will be free.

