It’s not just a figure of speech. Today my brain has, actually, been replaced by a huge concrete block which is causing me a splitting migraine and I cannot churn out anything that I feel is good enough. The migraine’s center is just behind my eyes and in my temples, covering the lower frontal and frontal temporal lobes. Occasionally there is a sharp pain from somewhere in my limbic system – undoubtedly my hippocampus processing damning memories of my decision to start this futile thing in the first place. I have a vague idea of the things I want to say and how they piece together, but the words to say them escape me.

I hate this block and wish there were some way to tear it out of my head and get my brain back that normally has such a brilliant reputation.

I haven’t had use of that brain for so long.  

